What music do ya's listen to while coding?

(/home/alkaline) #1

I can’t be the only one who blares music while programming. Given there’s a lot of coding mixes out there on YouTube, I can’t be the only one. What do you guys listen to?

I tend to listen to liquid drum’n’bass. It’s somehow both ambient and gets your blood pumping which I guess is the perfect kind of music for writing code and waiting for it to compile. Even makes scripting out Blueprints in UE4 entertaining.

(JPlexer) #2

I am listening to EDM as I relax with that music

(/home/alkaline) #3

At the present moment, I am listening to Infected Mushroom - Becoming Insane.

Did I mention I have a weird taste in music? :slight_smile:

(Logan Lowe) #4

Oooohhhh boy :stuck_out_tongue:

Well, if I’m just getting started, clearing out my mind, I listen to Two Out of Three Ain’t Bad by Meat Loaf, circa 1979.

It’s an odd song for getting warmed up - a song about a man in love with a woman that decides to leave her for another; the chorus says “I want you, I need you, but there ain’t no way I’m ever gonna love you; now don’t be sad. Cause two out of three ain’t bad.”. After leaving his woman, the man meets another woman and starts a new relationship. Things go south - the man pleads and begs her not to leave - but she has only a few words for him.

“I want you, I need you, but there ain’t no way I’m ever gonna love you; now don’t be sad. Cause two out of three ain’t bad.”

Meta AF.

Other contenders for this role are Steal Away by Robbie Dupree in 1980, and What a Fool Believes by The Doobie Brothers in 1978.

Once I’m all warmed up and want a nice upbeat song, I listen to - you guessed it - another breakup song! The King of Wishful Thinking, by Go West in 1992.

It’s got a nice upbeat tone, despite being about a couple breaking up. The man says that he’s the “King of Wishful Thinking” and will forget about his lost relationship. That’s definitely some wishful thinking.

Other songs that I usually play are;